The "tas", or bowl for pouring water over the body, was always of
metal. Weather silver, gilt or tinned copper, or of brass, the tas
always had grooved and inlaid ornamentation.
One finds a soap case of metal, usually copper, with a handle on
top like a handbag, and perforated at the bottom to allow water to run
out. Not only soap goes into such a case, but also a coarse mitt for
scouring down the skin, a webbing of date-palm or other fibers for
lathering on the soap, and combs both fine and broad-toothed made of
horn or ivory.
The "kese" (keh-seh), that rough cloth mitt carried in the soap
case, not only scoured the dirt out of the pores, but served to
deliver a bracing massage. The soaping web, on the other hand, was
specially woven out of hair or plant fibers.
Located in Cagaloglu on the right side of the Yerebatan (Basilica
cistern) Street , these Baths were built by Sultan Mahmud I in 1741 to
provide revenue for Hagia Sophia Mosque. The architect is unknown.
Cagaloglu hamam is a double hamam with section for both men and
women. It was unique in its emloyment of Baroque and Classic Ottoman
architectural motifs and was the last of the great hamams to be built
before their construction was forbidden by Sultan Mustafa III in 17+9,
owing to the increasing needs for water and wood in Istanbul.
The Cemberlitas Hamam is located on the Divanyolu near the Cemberlitas
(Banded Column). Ot was built by Sultan Murat IIIís mother, Nurbanu
Sultan in 1584 to provide a source of revenue for the Atik Valide
Mosque Complex in Uskudar. Its architect was Sinan.
It was originally built as a double hamam both men and women
seperate sections. But during the reign of Sultan Abdulaziz
(1841-1824) part of the womenís section was destroyed to allow for the
widening nearby road. As a result only the menís section is in use
Located in the entrance to Darż Street, where Dogancilar Street and
Uncular street intersect in Uskudar, is the Eski Hamam. While the
architect and the year in which was built are unknown, certain
evidence points to it having built int the 15th century.
Also known as the Sifa (Cure) Hamam, it has seperate sections for
men and women. Both sections are in use today. Although the oldest
hamam in Uskudar, it has still managed to retain its original
The Galatasaray Hamam is located in Galatasaray at the junction of
Turnacibasi and Capanoglu streets. It was built in 1715 as a public
Bath in line with classical Turkish hamam architectural design.
It underwnet renovation in 1965 and while its main structure
remained intact, its architectural details and interior portions were
redesignated and as such it has lost some of its historic attraction.
Functionally, though, a womenís section was added during the
renovations in 1965 and the hamam is still operating. Well maintained
up to the present day, it caters for both locals and foreign tourists.